Google Analytics
Honolulu Quarterback Club

Established in 1999, in memory of long-time Quarterback Club member and enthusiastic football fan George Archer, and awarded to any athletic coach, professional or non-professional, who developed a team or player to acheive outstanding results. Previous winners are eligible.

2009 Coach-of-the-Year Award


Dave Shoji - Rainbow Wahine Head Coach - continues to be a mainstay in both the realm of athletics in Hawai‘i and in the volleyball community for the past 35 years. Shoji is coming off an outstanding 35th season, earning AVCA National Coach of the Year for the second time in his career, becoming the second coach in NCAA Division I history to reach 1,000 wins and leading the Rainbow Wahine to their ninth NCAA Championships appearance. The legendary coach still remains one of the best in the country, leading UH to its 15th straight conference title, 10th consecutive conference tournament title, a No. 3 national ranking and its ninth NCAA Championships berth. On October 17, 2009, Shoji reached the 1,000 win milestone with a victory over New Mexico State, becoming just the second coach in NCAA Division I history to reach the prestigious mark. Shoji has a total of 1,016 wins in his career, ranking second all-time. The honors have piled up for Shoji over the years. He is a 10-time conference and region Coach of the Year and was named the national Coach of the Year in 1982 and in 2009. Shoji was named to the list of all-time great coaches by USA Volleyball in 2002. He has also been inducted into Hawai‘i Sports Hall of Fame and was named coach of the NCAA 25th Anniversary team. Dave also won this award in 2004.

Past Recipients:

2009 Dave Shoji, UH Manoa Womens Volleyball Coach 2008 Kale Ane, Punahou Football Coach
2007 Bob Coolen, UH Manoa Softball Coach 2006 Reggie Torres, Kahuku High School
2005 Dr. Mark Mugiishi, Iolani Boys Basketball Coach 2004 Dave Shoji, UH Women's Volleyball Coach
2003 Siuaki Livai, Kuhuku High Football Coach 2002 Mike Wilton, UH Men's Volleyball Coach
2001 June Jones, UH Football Coach 2000 Siuaki Livai, Kuhuku High Football Coach
1999 June Jones, UH Football Coach AWARD ESTABLISHED 1999

2008 Coach-of-the-Year Award


Kale Ane - Punahou football gead coach - guided the BuffanBlu to it's first ever state football championship. Punahou racked up 512 yards of total offense while holding Leilehua to just 210 yards, only six of which came on the ground. Six Leilehua turnovers contributed to the one-sided 38-7 victory in the 10th Annual Hawaii High School Athletic Association/ First Hawaiian Bank Division I Football State Championship. Ane's staff had the BuffanBlu ready for a titanic contest; they put up more points than in any previous state championship, while holding the Mules to their lowest point total of the season.



2007 Coach-of-the-Year Award


Bob Coolen - UH Women's softball head coach - finished the season ranked 12th nationally with a 50-13 record; his team won both WAC regular season and tournament titles, and the NCAA regional title; they lost to No. 1 seed Tennessee in the super regionals. Team swept top honors for the first time ever in the WAC, winning Player-of-the-Year (Tyleen Tausaga), Pitcher-of-the-Year (Kate Robinson), Freshman-of-the-Year (Kathy Grimes) and Coach-of-the-Year (Coolen himself). In addition, all 10 starters earned either first or second team all-WAC honors.


Support HQBC | Awards | Contact Us

Copyright Honolulu Quarterback Club. All Rights Reserved © 2022