Google Analytics
Honolulu Quarterback Club

The Honolulu Quarterback Club recognizes these Sportspersons for their outstanding atheletic achievements.

2009 Sportspersons-of-the-Year

Amber Kaufman

Female - Annett Whichmann - in 2009 was a member of the University of Hawaii Track Team, won her 4th consecutive WAC heptathlon title, won her 3rd consecutive WAC indoor pentathlon; named co-field athlete at both meets; earned all-American honors at the NCAA championships by finishing 7th in the indoor pentathlon and 7th in the outdoor heptathlon; received the UH Jack Bonaham Award as the top senior athlete of 2009; named to the national, regional and WAC all-academic teams, earned first-team all-academic honors from ESPN The Magazine; and received the Stan Bates Award (in honor of former WAC Commissioner Stan Bates, given to the league's top  female and male scholar-athletes, recognizing their athletic and academic achievements; which includes a $2,000 postgraduate scholarship).


Dave Shoji - Rainbow Wahine Head Coach - continues to be a mainstay in both the realm of athletics in Hawai‘i and in the volleyball community for the past 35 years. Shoji is coming off an outstanding 35th season, earning AVCA National Coach of the Year for the second time in his career, becoming the second coach in NCAA Division I history to reach 1,000 wins and leading the Rainbow Wahine to their ninth NCAA Championships appearance. The legendary coach still remains one of the best in the country, leading UH to its 15th straight conference title, 10th consecutive conference tournament title, a No. 3 national ranking and its ninth NCAA Championships berth. On October 17, 2009, Shoji reached the 1,000 win milestone with a victory over New Mexico State, becoming just the second coach in NCAA Division I history to reach the prestigious mark. Shoji has a total of 1,016 wins in his career, ranking second all-time. The honors have piled up for Shoji over the years. He is a 10-time conference and region Coach of the Year and was named the national Coach of the Year in 1982 and in 2009. Shoji was named to the list of all-time great coaches by USA Volleyball in 2002. He has also been inducted into Hawai‘i Sports Hall of Fame and was named coach of the NCAA 25th Anniversary team.

2009 Dave Shoji, Rainbow Wahine Head Coach Annett Whichmann, UH Track & Field
2008 Mante Te'o, Footalball, Punahou Carmyn James, Women's Track & Field Coach, UH
2007 Colt Brennan, UH Manoa, senior football quarterback Carissa Moore, World Champion Surfer

2008 Sportspersons-of-the-Year


Female - Carmyn James - UH Manoa - Head Coach, Women’s indoor Track & Field WAC Champions - Nine of her athletes qualified for NCAA West Regionals, 3 made it to the NCAA Championships. All 3 athletes earned all-American status leading UH to a top 25 finish.





Male - Manti Te’o - Punahou - Football - unanimous State Defensive Player-of-the-year. Inaugural winner of the Dick Butkus award for Outstanding Linebacker in the Nation. Led Punahou to a State Football Championship. USA Today Defensive Player-of-the-year.




2007 Sportspersons-of-the-Year


Female - Carissa Moore - World Champion Surfer - recognized by Surfer Magazine as the Female Performer of the Year, scored a perfect 10 in her first ever ASP (Asocial of Surfing Professionals) men’s event in San Mogul, Mexico, the only surfer of the contest to receive such a score.





Male - Colt Brennan - UH Manoa - senior - football - quarterback, named a finalist for the Heisman Trophy, guided Hawaii to a perfect 12-0 record and BSC bowl game appearance, named WAC Offensive Player of the Year, an SI all-American. Ends UH career with 31 NCAA records, including career total offense per game (387.0) and career completion percentage (70.4).




Support HQBC | Awards | Contact Us

Copyright Honolulu Quarterback Club. All Rights Reserved © 2022